Have you ever thought about yawning, for instance? Yawning is a surprisingly powerful act. Just because you read the word “yawning” in the previous two sentences – and the two additional “yawns” in this sentence – a good number of you will probably yawn within the next few minutes. Even as I’m writing this, I’ve yawned twice. If you’re reading this in a public place, and you’ve just yawned, chances are that a good proportion of everyone who saw you yawn is now yawning too, and a good proportion of the people watching the people who watched you tawn are now yawning as well, and on and on, in an ever-widening yawning circle… They might even have yawned if they only heard you yawn, because yawning is also aurally contagious: if you play an audiotape of a yawn to blind people, they’ll yawn too… yawns can also be emotionally contagious. Simply by writing the word, I can plant a feeling in your mind.”

The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, pp.9-10

GracEnhea: Writing is such a powerful ability that we as humans possess. I hope that through this blog, I will be able to plant feelings of hope and happiness in YOU reading my page!

Highly recommended! 4.5/5

